Genoa Indian School Digital Reconciliation Project

Our Team

Community Advisors Council


  • Judi M. gaiashkibos (Ponca), Executive Director, Nebraska Commission on Indian Affairs
  • James Riding In (Pawnee), Associate Professor of American Indian Studies, Arizona State University


  • Nancy Carlson, Charter Member, Genoa U.S. Indian School Foundation
  • Luta Menard, UNITE (University of Nebraska Inter-Tribal Exchange student group)
  • Larry Wright, Jr. (Ponca), Chairman, Ponca Tribe of Nebraska
    • Alternate: Dwight Howe (Ponca), Cultural Director, Ponca Tribe of Nebraska
  • Stuart Redwing (Santee), Secretary, Santee Sioux Tribe of Nebraska
  • Eben Crawford (Winnebago), Curator & NAGPRA Assistant, Winnebago Tribe of Nebraska
  • Omaha Tribe of Nebraska Representative


Group photo from the November 2019 meeting of the Community Advisors Council.


Former Members of the Community Advisors Council include:

  • Randy Teboe (Winnebago THPO, representing Winnebago Chairman Frank White), 2018-2019
  • Sky Morgan (Winnebago), representative for UNITE (University of Nebraska Inter-Tribal Exchange student group), 2018-2019
  • Roger Trudell (Chairman, Santee Sioux Nation), 2018-2019
  • Mike Wolfe (Chairman, Omaha Tribe of Nebraska), 2018
    • Clifford Wolfe (Omaha Tribal Council Member, representing Omaha Chairman Mike Wolfe), Fall 2018
  • Orville Cayou (Secretary, Omaha Tribe of Nebraska), 2018
  • Dwight Howe (Director of Cultural Affairs, Ponca Tribe of Nebraska), 2018

Project Co-Directors

  • Margaret Jacobs, Chancellor’s Professor of History, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • Elizabeth Lorang, Associate Professor, University Libraries, and Faculty Fellow, Center for Digital Research in the Humanities, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Preservation and Audiovisual Lead

  • Blake Graham, Assistant Professor and Digital Archivist, Digital Initiatives and Special Collections Department, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, 2018-2019

Project Manager

  • Michelle Tiedje, PhD, University of Nebraska-Lincoln Libraries, June 2018 - present

Tribal Liaison and Outreach Coordinator

  • Susana D. Grajales Geliga (Lakota and Taino), PhD candidate, June 2018 - present

Undergraduate Research Assistants

  • Daelyn Zagurski (Winnebago), September 2019 - present
  • Kiylista Harden (Winnebago), September 2019 - present
  • Sky Morgan (Winnebago), October 2018 - July 2019

Research Associate

  • Eric Saxon, January 2020 - May 2020

Archive Specialists and Graduate Assistants

  • Ipsita Mitra, June 2019 - Fall 2019
  • Lydia Presley, PhD student, June 2018 - August 2019
  • Baligh Ben Taleb, PhD candidate, June 2018 - August 2018

Graduate Researchers

  • Veronica Duran, PhD student, May 2019 - August 2019, March 2020 to present
  • Baligh Ben Taleb, 2017-18
  • Mikal Brotnov Eckstrom (Nimmipuu ancestry), Graduate Research Assistant (2016-17)

Digital Collections Associate

  • Christy Hyman, PhD student, August 2018 - May 2019

Center for Digital Research in the Humanities Staff

  • Karin Dalziel, Digital Development Manager & Designer, University of Nebraska-Lincoln Libraries
  • Greg Tunink, Programmer/Analyst II, University of Nebraska-Lincoln Libraries


Collaborating Institutions

  • Genoa U.S. Indian School Foundation
  • University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • National Archives at Denver
  • National Archives at Kansas City

Support Provided By

  • Council on Library and Information Resources
  • National Endowment for the Humanities
  • College of Arts and Sciences, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • University Libraries, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • Office of Sponsored Programs, University of Nebraska-Lincoln